A Change…

I have started my full time student teaching in the Milwaukee Public School District. It has come with many stressors, but many wake up calls and teachable moments for myself. I have always been a fan of incorporating hip hop into teaching, but I have always been unsure of how to do so. I have followed in the paths of amazing hip hop cultivators like Chris Emdin and Sam Seidel and have often joined in on the #HipHopEd chat on Twitter.

I feel like I have all of these awesome ideas, but putting them into practice has been extremely difficult. I am often confined by my role as a student teacher, but also by my students. Because of this, I am redirecting the focus of this blog from overall urban classroom experiences and lessons to a hip hop focus.  Welcome to The Urban CLassroom Expedition: The struggles and triumphs of incorporating hip hop into the urban classroom!

W

Leave a comment