About This Blog

Hello!

My name is Kelly Kloth and I am currently attending UW-Milwaukee where I am pursuing a degree in Early Adolescent-Adolescent Education with focuses in History, Political Science and Sociology. I am currently student teaching at Vincent High School, a Milwaukee Public School, in Milwaukee, WI. Urban education is a true passion of mine. I believe that a number of societal issues we have in our country can be diminished or completely solved by giving our youth a positive quality education.

malcolm x

I truly love every aspect of the urban classroom, but I especially love working with the students. I appreciate their sense of humor, their views on life, and the way they crave knowledge. My main goal as an urban educator is to let students know that they are capable of doing anything they set their mind to. I want my students to know that they are important, they are loved, and they are smart. People often write off urban students as lazy, disrespectful ect. Are they perfect? Of course not, nobody is.


I think that the key to being a successful urban educator lies in understanding your students, understanding and respecting their culture, and utilizing their talents, likes and dislikes to build on their already developing foundation of knowledge. 


Steve Biko

This blog will look at education in the urban classroom from a social studies standpoint because I have a social studies focus. I believe that social studies, especially history, is imperative to the success of urban students.  In general, social studies prepares students for their civic role in the United States, but more importantly, it makes students aware of how the world around them works. As Nelson Mandela said, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”

Nelson Mandela                                Urban Education

 

 

 

One thought on “About This Blog

  1. Such a passionate introduction to you and your blog. I love the quotes you’ve included, especially the one by Steve Biko.

    Like

Leave a comment